

Impact

Scholarly Endeavor



Invention

1974-2009 A Historical Journey of EXCELLENCE

Medal of Excellence in Composite Materials

口

BULLETIN

Issue No. 5 - August 2009

It's with great pride that the Center for Composite Materials at the University of Delaware continues to honor its previous Medal of Excellence winners in celebration of its 35th anniversary. This issue celebrates the extraordinary professional accomplishments of the 1997, 1999, 2002, 2005 and 2008 Medal of Excellence winners: Dr. C. T. Sun, Dr. George S. Springer, The Late Dr. Roy C. McCullough, Dr. John C. Halpin, Dr. Nicholas J. Pagano, Dr. James M. Whitney, Dr. Takahashi Ishikawa and Dr. Alan G. Miller.



Join us as we continue to follow CCM's long, successful, and extraordinary journey of excellence.

Medal of Excellence in Composite Materials

WINNER



Dr. C. T. Sun

Neil A. Armstrong
Distinguished Professor
of Aeronautics, fellow
of the American Society
for Composites, recipient of the American
Society of Composites
Distinguished Research
Award, editorial board
member of the Journal
of Composite Materials,
Fellow of the American
Society of Mechanical
Engineers.

Click to view full bio

6 WINNER



Dr. George S. Springer

Paul Piggott Professor of Engineering at Stanford University, member of the National Academy of Engineering, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Engineer of the Year, member of the American Society of Composites

Click to view full bio

WINNER O



The Late
Dr. Roy C. McCullough

"Founding Father" of the Center for Composite Materials at the University of Delaware and professor of Chemical Engineering, widely recognized leader in composite interphases, structure property relationships and micromechanics of composites, Director of CCM from 1990-1994, integral in establishment of the Army Research Center of Excellence at CCM.

Click to view full bio

S WINNERS



Dr. John C. Halpin

Chief Engineer of the Aeronautical System Center, Wright Patterson Air Force Base, founder of the Journal of Composite Materials, Fellow of the Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering

Click to view full bio

Medal of Excellence in Composite Materials

WINNERS
Continued



Dr. Nicholas J. Pagano

Senior Scientist with the Air Force Research Laboratory, discoverer of the "stacking sequence phenomenon" which led to new practices to reduce the potential for delamination, works presented in "Mechanics of Composite Materials: Selected Works of Nicholas J. Pagano."

Click to view full bio



Dr. James M. Whitney

John F. and Leona D. Torley Chair in Composite Materials at the University of Dayton, fellow of the American Society for Composites, the Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the American Society for Testing and Materials,

Click to view full bio

∞ WINNERS



Dr. Takahashi Ishikawa

Director of the Aviation
Program Group for the Japan
Aerospace Exploratory
Agency, Editor in Chief of
Advanced Composite Materials and Journal of Japan
Society for Aeronautical and
Space Sciences, member
of the Honorary Advisory
Board of Comprehensive
Composite Materials.

Click to view full bio



Dr. Alan G. Miller

Director of Technology Integration for the 787 Dreamliner program at the Boeing Company, member of the SAMPE Europe Scientific Committee, member of the Executive Board of the FAA Center of Excellence at the University of Washington—Advanced Materials for Transport Aircraft Structures

Click to view full bio

PREVIEW

CCM 35th Anniversary - September 14, 2009

The following provides a brief overview of some of the events planned in conjunction with CCM's 35th anniversary. Check our web site frequently at http://www.ccm.udel.edu/News/35th Anniversary.html for updates and more details:

An afternoon reception will be held at the Composites Manufacturing Science Laboratory. This will be an ideal opportunity to reconnect with fellow alumni and friends, faculty, and professional staff members as well as to network. A CCM overview and tours of our labs, all of which have been renovated over the past five years, are planned. A poster session will be held to provide a forum to learn more about our research activities and meet the current group of CCM alums.

ASC/CACSMA Technical Conference - September 15-17, 2009

- * As a special event of the <u>ASC/CACSMA Technical Conference</u>, CCM will present the Medal of Excellence in Composites at the Conference banquet on the evening of **September 16th**.
- * A symposium honoring **Professor Tsu-Wei Chou** for his 40 years of service to the University and his pioneering contributions to composites science and technology during that period, will be held during the Conference and will include invited presentations by international experts in the field of composites science.

Please click here for Prof. Chou Symposium flyer.

We look forward to celebrating this milestone with all of you.

Join us as we celebrate

35 years of significant
contributions to composites
science and technology, the
education of students,
and the creation and
transfer of technology
to industry.

