

University of Delaware Center for Composite Materials TE BULLETIN Issue No. 4 - August 2009

It's with great pride that the Center for Composite Materials at the University of Delaware continues to honor its previous Medal of Excellence winners in celebration of its 35th anniversary. This issue celebrates the extraordinary professional accomplishments of the 1992, 1993, 1994, and 1996 Medal of Excellence winners: Ms. Stephanie J. Kwolek, The late Dr. Paul W. Morgan, Dr. Herbert Blades, Dr. Georg Menges, Dr. R. Byron Pipes, and Dr. H. Thomas Hahn.

Join us as we continue to follow CCM's long, successful, and extraordinary journey of excellence.



SPE

University of Delaware Center for Composite Materials Medal of Excellence in Composite Materials

SPECIAL BULLETIN Issue No. 4 August 2009

^CWINNERS



Ms. Stephanie J Kwolek

Responsible for the invention of Kevlar while working as an engineer for DuPont, recipient or co-recipient of 17 patents and recipient of the National Medal of Techonology and Perkin Medal.

Click to view full bio



The Late Dr Paul Morgan

Pioneer in condensation polymerization, recipient of the Midgley Award and the Polymer Chemistry Award from the American Chemical Society, holder of 37 U.S. patents.

Click to view full bio



Dr Herbert Blades

Recipient of the Lavoisier Medal, former Research Fellow at the University of Canada, accredited in the invention of Kevlar while working as an engineer for DuPont.

Click to view full bio





Dr. Georg Menges

Former Director of the Institute of Plastics Processing in Aachen, Germany, pioneer in the field of mold design, founder of Computer Aided Engineering for the injection molding process and member of the Plastics Hall of Fame.

Click to view full bio

University of Delaware Center for Composite Materials Medal of Excellence in Composite Materials SPECIAL BULLETIN Issue No. 4 August 2009



Dr. R. Byron Pipes

Member of National Academy of Engineering, currently the John L. Bray **Distinguished Professor** of Engineering at Purdue University, served as 17th President of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 1993-98, one of the founding fathers of CCM, former CCM Director, former UD Provost, former UD College of Engineering Dean, member of Swedish Royal Academy of Engineering (IVA), and 1994 Recipient of ASC Outstanding **Research Award** Click to view full bio

6



Dr. H. Thomas Hahn

Currently Raytheon **Distinguished Professor** of the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department at UCLA, serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Composite Materials, former President of the American Society for Composites (1996-97), member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea

Click to view full bio

As a special event of the 1st Joint American and Canadian Technical Conference, CCM will present the 2009 Medal of Excellence in Composite Materials at the Technical Conference banquet on September 16, 2009.

> **Register now** by visiting the conference website at http://www.ccm.udel.edu/ASC CACSMA 2009 and learn more about this upcoming historic event.

Join us as we celebrate 35 years of significant contributions to composites science and technology, the education of students, and the creation and transfer of technology to industry.



201 Composites Manufacturing Science Laboratory University of Delaware, Newark, Delaware 19716-3144

phone 302.831.8149 fax 302.831.8525